Editing

Keeping Busy, Keeping Quiet

My brother has a new story in Hawai’i Pacific Review from his forthcoming novel in stories, Pretend You’re Really Here. Like everything he writes, it’s well worth your time.

Hawaii Pacific Review

by Nicholas Lepre

I was staring at nothing, sitting in the corner of Lickity Splits, waiting for Dougie to close up, when the sea creatures came in. A beluga whale in cutoffs and a little lobster girl in red ski gloves. I’d never seen a beluga look so miserable. This was a Tuesday night, almost ten o’clock. No one had been in for an hour, just Dougie and me, killing time. I was eating my third mint chip cone because I had spotted Dougie a dime earlier that week. Lobster girl had this look on her face like she was exhausted but didn’t want to go to bed. Nine years old, probably. The whale was in a big hurry and kept snapping at her. Fine by me. All I wanted was to close up, pick up a couple Bell Beefers and watch NOVA in Dougie’s basement.

View original post 1,589 more words

Leave a Reply

